Eligibility criteria for an Erasmus Mundus grant

Students from all over the world holding a first degree can be taken into consideration for an Erasmus Mundus Scholarship.


The EU distinguishes between scholarships for Erasmus+ Partner country nationals and for Erasmus+ Programme country nationals.


A list of the Erasmus+ programme countries can be found here. 


According to the EU "Erasmus+ Partner Country students are students who are not residents nor have carried out their main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last 5 years in an Erasmus+ Programme Country. The 5-year reference period for this 12-month rule is calculated as from the submission deadline", that is in the case of the Global Studies Programme March 28th).


For the list on Erasmus+ programme countries, please check here. 


All students applying to more than 3 Erasmus Mundus Master courses or who did receive an Erasmus Mundus grant for degree seeking purposes before will automatically disqualify for the scholarship. 


NB: For the 2019 intake only in July 2019 a decision will be taken by the EU if Erasmus Mundus scholarships will be provided to students studying in the EMGS programme. 


Selection is made on the basis of pre-defined country slots (i.e. not more than three students should hold the same nationality). 

On this basis the consortium's Joint Selection Committee ranks applicants for Erasmus Mundus scholarships and submits the list to the European Commission. 
The Joint Selection Committee ranks applications based on merit and the additional criteria implied through the defined country quota - according to the following criteria:

  • very good/outstanding study results (= academic excellence)
  • academic potential and recommendation
  • level of language skills
  • quality/recognition of home institution having awarded the first degree
  • motivation
  • recommendations
  • work experience/professional qualifications